"Lack of attention by clerical staff"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

Following an operation for cancer on 18 th August 2013. and being told that a follow up consultation would be arranged in a months time, here I am still waiting 8 months later for an appointment. I have spoken to everyone possible and complained to no avail and being told that an appointment is " in the post" Result : Nothing!. I gave up! On the 6th of may I was contacted by phone by the secretary who was trying to sort out the mess and promised to get an appointment for me. True to her word an appointment arrived for Monday 19th at 09-15 hrs followed two days later by a further letter from the appointments office informing me that this appointment had been cancelled. Here we go again! Back on the jolly old roundabout ! Queens Hospital. YUCk! Mr .P Beverton.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital

Thank you for commenting on NHS Choices. I imagine this has been a stressful time for you, and I am very sorry that you have had to wait a long time for your follow-up appointment and for it then to be consequently cancelled. I’m pleased that you feel you have received great care from our staff, but you are right to have brought this to our attention. For me to be able to look into this further, I will require more information from you. Please contact me through our PALS team on 01708 435 454 or email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk. Yours sincerely, Stephen Burgess Medical Director

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful