"Delivery suite great but ward afterwards was..."

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital

I have given birth here twice and found the staff in the delivery suite fantastic. With my first baby I had quite a medicalised birth (induced, epidural, episiotomy), with my second baby I had a 2 hour labour and no pain relief so two very different births but the staff in the delivery suite were great in both situations. The ward afterwards though was a completely different story. They are obviously very busy but they seem to use this as an excuse to be very rude. After my first birth I was in a lot of pain and a few hours overdue for some painkillers so, after ringing the buzzer a few times and being ignored, I hobbled down the corridor to ask for some paracetamol. I was shouted at by a nurse who said they were too busy (she was midway through an argument with another patient!) so I ended up taking some I had brought with me & was shouted at again because that didn't go on my medical chart (fair point but I was in agony). My second baby was born at 11pm and I was told I could leave at breakfast the following day. We eventually ended up discharging ourselves at 5pm because I had to pick my other child up from nursery. I was fine to go but they hadn't done our paperwork (they chased us down the corridor with it as we were leaving!) & told me I was putting my baby at risk by not getting her looked at by the paediatrician before we left (nice bit of emotional blackmail to shut me up!) Considering how busy they were I could have saved them a bed for a whole day & 3 meals if they'd got their paperwork sorted. I'm due to have my third baby there in a few weeks and I'm wondering if I can leave straight from the delivery suite this time & have my baby checked by my midwife (as you would with a home birth) to avoid the hassle & stress of that awful ward!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Paul Jebb, Assistant Director of Nursing (patient experience), Clinical Governance, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Paul Jebb

Thank you for leaving your feedback about your experience on Ward D and I am sorry that you did not have a good experience when you visited. The attitude and approach of medical staff is critical to delivering quality care and I will be passing your comments onto the Ward; I know they will be very disappointed to read about your experience but will use your feedback to help improve and develop their service.

As you are due to deliver your baby shortly I would advise you contact our Midwifery Matron, Janet Danson Smith, on 01253 953628 who will review your notes and discuss what delivery options are available to you. Typically if you are identified as being low risk during labour, you can have your baby in our new Midwifery Led Unit which is a home from home experience, or be discharged in a shorter timeframe after birth. Janet will be able to explain this in further detail.

I hope this provides some reassurance and wish you and your family all the best with the new arrival.

Kind regards

Paul Jebb

Assistant Director of Nursing - Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful