"Priority is definitely not the patient..."

About: North Downs Hospital

Went for a shoulder examination, went through the rigmarole of getting insurance confirmation and then making an appointment. Was given a 15 minute appointment which was OK but felt very rushed. Was given an x ray (which I explained I had already had) and ultrasound and then a diagnosis. The real issue came to then trying to get invoices to make sure I could get this paid for, the admin people were exceptionally unhelpful. Couldn't issue the invoices in time to get them paid (after nearly 6 weeks), gave me the run-around when it came to sorting it out and adopted a "how can I avoid helping you" attitude. If this was an NHS funded procedure there would be much more I could do in terms of following this up. In summary : Care - the same if not slightly worse than anything through the NHS (basically the same people – you pay to see them slightly more quickly), Service and help from staff: Very poor. Not worth paying for at all, our NHS may be the source of much complaining but if this is a window into what private healthcare looks like then we should be very thankful for what we have. Look elsewhere.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Downs Hospital

I am very sorry that you did not receive the service that you should have received from our administration team. It is certainly not our intention to give any patient the impression that we are not here to assist them with any query, in fact our aim is to ensure we provide personalised treatment to all patients who come through the hospital. We do have a process for private patients to complain and I would welcome you contacting me at the hospital to provide me with some further details so that I can investigate this complaint for you. It is important for me to receive this feedback of where we have gone wrong as this allows me to ensure that we are constantly improving our service. Stuart Emerson General Manager, North Downs Hospital 01883 348981

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful