"My Consultant was very good and  ..."

About: City Hospital campus

(as the patient),

What I liked

My Consultant was very good and  i thank him very much for that.I spent the first night of my second admission in the hospital hotel. this was excelent clean and comfortable. The nurse  was lovely and here i felt safe and cared for. The food was good. The beds on were very comfortable!

What could be improved

one ward was a disgrace. Two loos for 17 woman was horrible especeally as one of  the patients had some mental health problems and usually used the floor! One shower caused long waits - this shower was a health hazard so old that it was impossible to clean.The mIixed ward was very uncomfortable for a woman of my age (and for some of the men)  On my first stay on Barklay ward while i was in the extra care bed area, Doctors told the man who was a few feet away from me that they could do no more for him and that he would die within a few months!  This was an  unforgivable thing to do in my hearing.A junior nurse and I were both very upset( she was a star with me). I talked with this man for most of the night - he was very brave - i still grieve for him.

Anything else?

Young  Doctors appeared in groups. They never introduced themselves. One spent 10 minutes tryng to get blood samples failed and left without a word. He then went to the woman opposite  me and failedl with her this time he left the tourniquet round her arm - this was not found for an hour! Joy has made a complaint to the hospital for this and other things. We had no newspaper or hospital trolly visits on either of my hospital stays.The food was poor but the  servers were very pleasant.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from City Hospital campus

Dear Hazel

Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely concerned to read the comments you have posted about your experience on Barclay Thoracic Ward at our City Hospital campus. Please could you contact our Complaints Team on 0115 924 9924 ext 62279 so we can investigate this immediately and provide you with a full response.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful