"The hospital is clean and bright ..."

About: Musgrove Park Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

The hospital is clean and bright with good parking facilities.

What could be improved

After being referred to the back pain clinic I turned up for my MRI scan to find that the machine was broken and nobody had bothered to call to let me know. The appointment was re-made for four months later, with was an unacceptably long wait. After having the MRI the hospital lost me off the system and my GP had to chase up Musgrove which meant my treatment was delayed by a year. After undergoing a second MRI the Consultant finally listened, after I had to argue with him, that I was experiencing hip pain and he sent me for an Xray. The Xray results showed a collapsed hip joint and I was referred to another orthopaedic Consultant. Just getting the first appointment took three months. When I finally saw the Orthopaedic Consultant I was told that there was a three month wait for a hip operation and he was pretty condescending.

Two months on from that appointment I chased Orthopaedic Admissions to discover that I have no appointment (not even for pre-operative assessment) and that the list is completely full to the end of February. This means the wait will be over three months.

Cross referral is poor.

The attitude of the first Consultant was dismissive and he did not listen to what I was saying about symptoms, so a correct diagnosis was hugely delayed.

The waiting time for a hip replacement was mis-represented, leaving me with no option to ask to go to a different hospital.

Altogether, the combination of notes being lost, delays in referral and longer than advertised waiting lists has meant that I should have had my hip replaced nearly two years ago. A very poor service.

Anything else?

Having discovered that I still date for my operation, I contacted Orthopaedic Admissions to see what could be done. They were very polite and helpful and offered to book me in for the pre-operative assessment, but were unable to tell me how I would be able to try to move the date forward by opting to go to other hospitals.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Musgrove Park Hospital

Thank you for your comments and we are very sorry to hear that you have not had a good experience. We have looked into this matter and there seems to be a mismatch between our records and yours. We need to get to the bottom of why this is and it would be very helpful to us if you could ring our PALS team on 01823 343536 so that this matter can be investigated thoroughly. This would ensure that you receive the service and information you require and we could check that any mistakes are not being repeated.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful