"Maternity care"

About: Leicester General Hospital

The midwife's were extremely rude. I was given an epidural while I was in labour, and nobody had checked how dilated I was. One minute after I was given the epidural, I gave birth. After giving birth, my daughter's tremperature was not picking up. And when they moved me to a room, there was no heating in the room. My baby started going blue and I pressed the "emergency" button, and it was then that my baby was moved to a warm room. I felt extremely sick after giving birth. When I mentioned to the midwife, she said I could have an injection in my thigh to help. I said "yes, please". To which she replied "we don't give out injections willy nilly". Those were her exact words. And I was not given anything to help. Because my baby was underweight, I had to stay in the hospital for a few nights. One night I was in a lot of pain, and I rang for some pain relief. I was told someone would come and give me some. And nobody came, even after I walked out of my room and went to the midwife desk to ask for medication. It was a good 12hours before someone gave me some medication for pain relief. When I visited the toilets, on many an occasion there was blood on the floor. Someone came to mop the floor in my room. The water in which the mop was being "cleaned" was absolutely filthy. There is a note in the room, saying don't let your bags touch the floor. Now I know why. When I returned home, I threw the slippers that I had been wearing while in the hospital, in the bin. I was treated with total disrespect and the whole experience was one of the worst I had experienced.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital

Dear Hasina, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment. We are really sorry to hear about your experience of the maternity unit at the General as it does not reflect the high level of care we expect our patients to receive. We would like the opportunity to investigate your concerns further to ensure improvements are made for the future. Please could you email your details (name, address, date of birth and hospital number) to Joan Morrissey, senior midwife, on Joan.Morrissey@uhl-tr.nhs.uk. The cleaning contract for all of our hospitals was taken over by a company called Interserve in March 2013. We have been working closely with Interserve to ensure the standard of cleaning is much higher and that it is in line with national Infection Prevention guidelines. Kind regards, Communications team Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful