"Waisted time"

About: Darent Valley Hospital

I took my 3 year old son to childrens A&E after his nursery called me that his temperature was above 39. He was seen by a 'brilliant' dr who checked my son from top to toe said he's fit and well it's one of those things, and advised I give him vitamins then checked my sons urine sample and said he had glucose in it and need a blood test. After the cream was applied to my sons arm and hand I was told we need to wait 30 minutes to allow the cream to numb him. After an hour I asked a on duty nurse if his bloods were going to be taken as we would have had to wait a further 1 hour 30 minutes for the results and she replied we will deal with you shortly. After a further 30 minutes we were taken to PAU and after another 20 minutes I asked when his bloods would be taken and I was advised that in my sons notes it stated he should have had them done in A&E and a dr will be available shortly to determine if he actually needs them. Once put into a side room my son had woken from his nap and his temperature again started to rise and a really lovely young nurse came to assess him and gave him medicine to bring down his temperature, and again advised a dr will be along shortly. Once this dr came to assess my son and stated he may need to stay in over night to find out why he has this temperature but no other symptoms. Because of this my sons dad had to take that night off work meaning he lost money from not being in. The dr then came back to check my sons throat ears ect and noticed my son had puss points on his tonsils (I was relieved there was a reason for the temperature) and was then told he no longer needs this blood test. So in all a total of 9 hours were spent in hospital waiting to find out if they were discharging my son or keeping him in and to find out he has tonsillitis. I'm annoyed the 'brilliant' dr did not spot this if he had we would not have been waiting around for drs and waiting for them to determine if he was going home or not. My sons dad would have been able to go into work if the first dr had spotted this. We didn't leave the hospital till 9:45 which is terrible considering I had 2 young children to get home to bed. Attention to detail is all that's needed.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Darent Valley Hospital

We were very sorry to read about how unhappy you were with the time you waited at the hospital. When children are unwell it can be very distressing for all the family but we would only ever suggest keeping a child in hospital for their own wellbeing. We are sorry that your son's father was unable to go to work but were pleased to see that a diagnosis of tonsillitis was made and he was then able to spend the night in his own bed. We do hope your son is making a good recovery and will be back at nursery very soon. Kind regards The Communication Department Darent Valley Hospital

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful