"Petty care"

About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

My wife wished to give birth at Kendal but as a c-section was required this wasn't an option we asked to be transferred back at the earliest opportunity. Thus preceded childish, petty, unprofessional and ignorant behaviour. Apparently the doctor was too busy to do regular checks on my daughter apparently she seemed healthy so didn't need to have standard checks that all children should receive within 24 hours of birth! Then the circus began my wife's notes were not available, then not on the system. A nurse came but didn't have any knowledge of my wife's situation so she went to get an update from the midwife 2 hours later she hadn't returned! My wife needed a mmr jab a consent form was needed the first midwife didn't leave a pen 20 minutes later we asked another for a pen despite having 2 in her pocket she said she would have to get 1, 30 minutes later no pen despite midwife walking past twice it took threat of a complaint to get a pen! Finally got transferred 12 hours after being told it would be fine!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

We’re really sorry that you had the experience you did and would like the opportunity to investigate this and provide a response directly to you - we’d therefore be really grateful if you could contact us on 01539 795497 to allow us to begin that work. Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your comment and raise the issues with us.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Recently read