"First experiences of maternity unit"

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Both my wife and i are at an age where ourselves and many of our friends are lucky enough to be expecting our first baby. All of these friends had recommended that we do not use Arrowe Park's care and although in the early stages of the pregnancy, we can see why. Unfortunately when we went for our 12 week scan, the sonographer found fluid around the baby and refered us on to the FMU team. The midwife who saw us was very nice, but understandably could not tell us much about our situation so booked us an appointment with the consultant the following week, explaining what potential actions could be carried out. Having heard these options, we went away and decided that my wife would go for the CVS procedure. We realised once we had left that the rest of the booking in appointment had not been finished, meaning once again we would come back. When we arrived at the consultant appointment, we were called through and a very thorough scan was carried out. It was all agreed that the CVS would take place there and then. Then it appeared that the 'normal' needle was missing and a replacement one would be used and the procedure would be the same only would involve being inserted twice. The first attempt was just about successful after the consultant guided the midwife through something she didnt seem to know an awful lot about. On the second attempt, both midwife and nurse decided they would try and find the 'normal' needle. It appeared one of the other consultants had taken 5 of them and locked them in her room. While preparing for the third attempt, consultant, midwife and my wife agreed that they would wait for the more experienced midwife to be back before trying again on another day. It was then revealed that it was only recommended to go into the placenta twice anyway. So the consultant and midwife were prepared to risk this with the incorrect equipment and a midwife who was uncomfortable carrying out the procedure. At the end of the appointment, my wife had a return booked for the CVS with the correct equipment a week later, and the remainder of the booking appointment on the following day from the appointment. The night before the CVS appointment, we received a phone call telling us that they had once again found themselves without the 'normal' needle and our appointment would have to be changed. Having been through a traumatic start to the pregnancy, and then through an even more traumatic failed CVS appointment, we would expect to be catered for a little bit better than finding out the night before that we have been victim once again to poor planning and team work at Arrowe Park.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you and your wife have had at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We note your comments about Arrowe Park Hospital. However, if you would like for us to look into your concerns further, we will need personal details and more information about what happened and where her care was managed. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you can ring the Complaints Department on 0151 604 7660, email wih-tr.Complaints@nhs.net or in writing to Complaints Department, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. The Complaints Department can discuss the best way that we can try to address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story