"Staff in xray department were ..."

About: North Manchester General Hospital

(as the patient),

What I liked

Staff in xray department were very friendly.

What could be improved

My consultants whole attitude could of been different, he was rude and very ignorant. He didn't ask me any relevant questions and showed no interest when i tried to explain my symptoms, he had very little eye contact with me. I had to ask him to look at my xrays as he had forgotton about them. All he seemed interested in was ticking my name off a list to show that yet another government target had been reached. It felt like i was in a cattle market.

Anything else?

Since this appointment, i have had to personally chase up other appointments, referrals and also my follow up appointment back to this department. The whole system has no communication with each other. Had i not of chased up my own appointment, i would still be waiting for one.

I am absolutely disgusted with the whole experience, i have been using this hospital for the last 15 years and have so far not had any problems.

I will be going to my follow up appointment in a few weeks and i am hoping for a better experience

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Manchester General Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you describe when attending the appointment with your consultant. We are also concerned to hear of the difficulties you have had in regard to information about future appointments.

If you would like us to enquire further into the matters you have raised, please let us have your details by contacting our patient advice and liaison service (PALs) email enquiries@pat.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful