"initial tretment in a+e very good ..."

About: Princess Alexandra Hospital (Harlow)

(as the patient),

What I liked

initial tretment in a+e very good but cubicle dirty

What could be improved

moved to netteswell ward and found the staff to be dirty and lazy. given pain meds every 6 hours but got around 1 hours relief. A nurse had terrible memory but a lovely glowing suntan. pity as much effort was not put into the patients as this nurse used on beautification treatments. the cleaners talked about how to get paid time off and had little impact on the blood on the floor or stains on the bed but dusted over most visible surfaces. the nursing assistants were attentive but complained about low wages. two porters came to wheel people around and stood about talking for long periods. some nurses seemed lazy whilst others were very hard working. very unhappy with the wasted resources and people paid to stand around talking. the whole hospital needs a good clean and some of the lazy staff need replacing.

Anything else?

why so many people doing nothing. why so many staff unhappy with wages and work. why are new buildings going up when the existing ones can not be cleaned properly. nursing is a thankless job made all the more difficult by poor morale. please try to make p.a.h. a nicer hospital to viist.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Alexandra Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback about our hospital. We are pleased that your experience in Accident and Emergency was largely a positive one. However, we were concerned regarding your comments about other staff. If you would be prepared to contact PALS (Patient Advice and Liaison Service) in one of the following ways, we can make sure your comments are investigated further.

Email: pals@pah.nhs.uk

Tel: 01279 827211

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful