"waste of time,uncaring and shambolic"

Shame on you NHS!! After being bitten by something unknown today at work(I work with a lot of foreign cargo)My arm started to swell up and was itching like crazy.So I went to my local hospital which has a walk in centre so I don't have to impose myself on A and E and add to the que. When I told the receptionist what had happened she informed me that the walk in was closed and told me to call 111 (some nhs call centre).What would I say to someone on the other end of the phone?Even if he was a doctor how could he diagnose over the phone?So they now tell me to drive to another hospital not even knowing my condition.I drove to the other hospital and wait around 1hr 30 to be seen.The doctor identifies I need anti allergy medicine and medicine to stop a blood infection,So I wait for my prescription.Another 1hr passes and nothing. I ask the triage nurse about my prescription and she Barks I am very busy.Am then informed the payment machine for the prescription is broken so there is more of a wait.Find out that on the prescription is piritin which I can buy at a 1/3 of the price at tescos without a prescription! In the end I get so tired of waiting that I tell them not to bother and go home.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Ashford & St Peters Hospital

Unfortunately we cannot comment on the other hospital that you attended in the first instance. Ashford Walk In Centre is not run by Ashford and St Peter's Hospitals but by Greenbrook Healthcare, I forwarded your post onto them and they have responded with the below. Many thanks. "We are very sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your experience at Ashford Health Centre. Our staff work hard to provide a good service and are disappointed when a patient feels that we have failed to do so. If you would like to contact our Business Manager Cathy Makepeace directly by telephone - 01784 884000 - or post - Ashford Health Centre, Ashford Hospital, London Road, Ashford TW15 3FE, we will be happy to carry out a full investigation into your concerns."

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story