"The stress of 2 cancelled operations for my 8 year old"

About: Birmingham Children's Hospital / General medicine

(as a parent/guardian),

My daughter was due a operation last week at the Birmingham Children's Hospital which was cancelled the day before. Then I was given a call 5 days later asking us to come in 2 days' time at 4pm. On that day at 10am I got a phone call cancelling this operation too. This is a lot of stress for an 8 year old. The cancellation was due to lack of beds both times.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Deputy Head of Nursing, Patient Experience & Participation Lead, Birmingham Women's and Children's NHS Foundation Trust

Dear yummymummy,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the cancellation of your daughter's operation and the distress it has caused. Will you please tell your daughter we are sorry too. We make every effort to avoid any cancellation as we do appreciate how upsetting and frustrating it can be when you have planned and prepared for an admission to hospital. Due to emergency operations there are occasions when it is unavoidable but we continue to look at how we can improve to make sure this is on as few occasions as possible.

We will organise another date for your daughter and will be in touch very soon.

Please do not hesitate to contact kate Dolman, Ward Manager on 0121 333 9016 or Debbie Walsh, Lead Nurse for Surgery if you wish to discuss the cancellation or anything else further.

Update posted by yummymummy (a parent/guardian)

Thank you for the quick response.

I do have another date and hopefully it will not be cancelled.

Response from Birmingham Children's Hospital

I am sorry that your daughter has experienced her operation cancelled on 2 occasions and apologise for the distress this has caused. We appreciate the amount of time that goes in to preparing to come in to hospital and the worry that goes with that so we do try very hard not to cancel any operations. However there are times, usually due to emergencies that it is unavoidable but we then do recognise how difficult that can be for both the patient and their families when it happens and I would be very happy to look further in to your individual circumstances. Should you wish me to do so or to discuss anything further please contact me using the details below. With kind regards, Janette Vyse, Patient Experience & Participation Lead 0121 333 8619 or janette.vyse@bch.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story