"A & E Nightmare (Continued to Major's Section)"

About: Leighton Hospital

Eventually my daughter was transferred to the Major's Unit on Saturday 19 April after a poor experience with the A & E Receptionist. When I arrived at the hospital my daughter was in severe pain from her injuries. She was taken for a CT scan and also X-rays. When we returned to the unit, we received no information about the results and she was fitted with a cannula but not told why. She was then attended by the Plaster Nurse who proceeded to encase her ankle in plaster despite the fact I asked what the tests had shown - she said we would have to wait for a doctor to tell us that. My daughter was then left in a pool of water which I had to clear away as the trolley was left soaking wet. The staff were so miserable - their morale so low - it was not encouraging at all! I requested information and pain relief for my daughter three times from the Unit Administrator who replied each time, "You will have to wait for a nurse" - Meanwhile medical staff were standing around chatting in clusters - some professionally about their patients/treatment, and others discussing what they had bought in Debenhams and the type of wine they had drank the night before!! A porter then came to admit my daughter to a ward but we were then told they had changed their minds. Eventually, I said I wasn't prepared for my daughter to be left in pain much longer and a Sister arrived passing the blame to the previous team stating, "You will have to wait. I know about your requests. I have only just come on to this shift so it is not my fault" I said, " There should be better communication between teams then, as my daughter has waited over five hours for pain relief" She was both impolite and patronising and made us feel most uncomfortable. The doctor then arrived who had been on duty since 7.30 am and it was now 9 pm. He was a thorough gentleman and very professional, drawing the curtains across to discuss the whole situation and arranging my daughter's pain relief and aftercare. He apologised for the upset caused and the Sister then proceeded to provide my daughter with the necessary items to take home. We were thoroughly disappointed with the whole experience from registration to leaving the hospital, (except for the Doctor concerned who was excellent). I dread to think how an elderly person would have coped with the situation, and vulnerable individuals with no friends or family.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

I am extremely sorry that you have had such a poor experience. You have raised a number of very concerning issues which I would very much like to discuss further with you, if that would be possible. I would be grateful if you would consider contacting the customer care team on 01270 278098 to leave your contact details in order that I can speak with you in person and discuss your concerns. Sue Talbot-Crosby, Matron, Emergency department

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story

Recently read