"Excellent staff, but not enough of them."

About: Rotherham Hospital

Title says it all really. Spent a few days in gynecology and the staff were helpful, caring but strethced too thin, often people had longer than ideal wait times but no one complained when they got seen too. Dont think its a problem specific to this hopsital sadly. They couldnt have done more to care, they were understanding and lovely. Any issue was not through a lack of hardwork and dedication but rather legislation and poor staffing.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kerry Hollingworth, Corporate Affairs Officer, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff and the care you received whilst you were an in-patient on the Gynaecology Ward. I will ensure that your feedback is shared with staff in this area.

As an organisation, we always make sure that we have sufficient staff to ensure our patients are safe. We do however have busy periods and I am sorry that you have experienced long waiting times. We are undertaking a review of all our ward staffing levels and continue to make the safety and comfort of patients our priority.

Thank you for your feedback.

Audra Muxlow, Head of Midwifery and Gynaecology Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story