"Poole hospital management needs to help cancer..."

About: Poole General Hospital

Sandbanks Ward was clearly understaffed and a lot of the issues observed basic patient needs being neglected from urine in 4 bedpans on toilet floors many patients alarms ringing for far too long. Heard nurses telling patients they were not as important as the dying patients , all patients deserve care and there should be enough cover provided. There is a difference between urgent and important. The telephones were ringing continuous with no-one answering them with machine noises there was no rest for patients it was so noisy. Allowing 6+ visitors per bed at times with young noisy children again meant patients could not rest and with low immunity that's not infection control. Nurses are obviously over stressed from being under resourced impact the basic nurturing needs patients have. There was only one doctor on the whole ward for 24 + patients. Doctors were refusing to speak with patients or families making requests , one doctor was in tears and said they wanted to finish shift on time another used the phrase " more important patients ". The inertia expressed by staff is symptomatic of a situation out of control with too much process and not enough staff . The patients need good levels of care from a caring profession and Poole hospital need to take this seriously. An elderly lady asked why her husbands drain hadn't been removed as promised 2 days ago , answer "i don't know ask a doctor but wont be tonight as they are too busy with more important patients try coming in earlier " . The late drugs rounds and wrong doses where patient pointed out the correct doses A few things were done as expected : observations done on time, meals served on time and some nurses took time to re-assure and tend to distressed patients but it was not consistent to be adequate and it was awful to see patients so sick and distressed , not a good situation. The Nurses need more hands on deck and some need to learn how to give patients re-assurance and understanding. The Poole doctors are sadly lacking in numbers and should take more time to talk and explain with patients , it was overall disappointing experience and doctors and nurses could learn a lot from the high standards on Bournemouth Ward 10 No wonder patients are upset and calling to go home , my family member says never again and has been very upset since coming home such a shame when quality of life is so emotionally important alongside physical recovery

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Poole General Hospital

We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the standard of care provided by our hospital. We are taking this very seriously and are looking into the issues you have raised. Should you wish to contact us in person to discuss your comments in more detail, please do not hesitate to do so – our patient advice and liaison team would be very happy to discuss this with you, and can be contacted on 01202 448499. Maria Bennett, Patient Experience Facilitator

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story