"Absolutely horrifying!"

About: Tameside General Hospital

If you plan on having major surgery at this hospital, think again. At 18 years old I went in for a fairly large operation. Upon waking up from my operation I got gradually worse and ended up in a critical condition. The nurses and doctors insisting it being a case of dehydration and a case of teenage drama. Only to find out the following day that I had a leak on my bowel operation and needed further major re constructive surgery to correct it. When waking up in intensive care I discovered I had septicaemia, which over the period of a week of me being 'dehydrated' had formed also into peritonitis. The serious amount of infection in my body turned into further various infections all around my body. Where I spent around 5 weeks in intensive care. Following this I developed a collapsed lung, blood clot in the lungs and intestinal failure. The whole system at this hospital is terrifying- no form of communication and they do defiantly not work together as a multi disciplinary team. If any one had taken note of my health seriously deteriorating and all my stats failing, receiving the care I needed I certainly would have not spent 5 months of my life in hospital. When the hospital finally realised they had messed up, I was sent to Salford royal, where I was placed back in high dependency for a following 3 weeks in which I received the correct treatment, the treatment I should have been given in the first place. Here I found out that at Tameside they had me on the wrong set of antibiotics, I was being given antibiotics for bacterial when I needed fungal, this mistake by the 'mighty professionals' at Tameside nearly cost me my life! If this mistake would have never have happened in the first place I would have not have ended up with the infection spreading and it nearly taking my life. So Tameside really do need to evaluate there whole team, how can a fit and healthy 18 year old nearly loose her life? due to mistakes in medicine and nursing staff not listening to my persistent complaints to not feeling well? but its easier for them to dress it as a dramatic young girl then to put some effort and compassion into there nursing.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Miss Adlard, I am sorry to hear about your complications following surgery. I understand you have received correspondence from the hospital addressing the specific concerns you have raised.

I hope the letter answered all your queries and helped clarify the various stages and decisions taken in regard to your care and treatment.

If you require any further information or support please do not hesitate to contact the hospital.

Kind regards

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story