"breathing difficulty"

About: Royal Surrey County Hospital

I visited A&E Sunday 13th around 7am. As my chest was tight and wheezy so I said to reception how long it would be as if it was busy and would be long I would go to Woking walk in instead. No reply on that point and she registered me. Reception area had only one person waiting. A while later I was called for triage and the nurse said it was very quiet. Nearly 8am I went to reception and explained I was getting worse, she said she couldn't do anything I had to go into the treatment room to talk to someone, she showed no intention to assist me in any form/manner. I could see it was quiet in the treatment area, a nurse told me they were waiting for GP, didn't explain anything to me. So I thought they were waiting for doctor to come down. I mentioned that I needed inhaler but it was ignored. Around 8am a nurse came out and told me to go to Thams Docs next building. I got there and they said my appointment was 9.20. I explained to them what happened and they couldn't believe that A&E didn't do any thing with breathing difficulty patient. I started to get worse as hyperventilated and feeling fainted so I saw doctor at 9am, she also couldn't believe what happened. OK I wasn't dying but I had breathing difficulty with tight chest due to chest injection and needing inhaler. As it was Sunday I had to wait till 10am for chemist to open. I understand if A&E was extremely busy and sent me to Thames Docs but the fact is it was quiet and no assisting was offered to ma at all. Today I went back to my usual GP as my breathing is still bad and my lung capacity dropped. She couldn't believe that A&E left patient with breathing difficulty unattended! She said she was sorry that I had to go through terrible time at your hospital. I'm extremely disgusted with your treatment. I'm a vet nurse and our animals are treat far beyond better than you did to me that day! Animal arrive with breathing difficulty if vet is busy we nurses will monitor them closely and give oxygen treatment if it required. I was left without any intention to assist me although I said I needed inhaler as I was increasing hyperventilating! This is far beyond lack of duty of care that you people commit to deliver. I'm very angry and disgusted with your unprofessionalism, laziness (on that day as it was quiet so people wanted to take it easy?) and zero duty of care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Surrey County Hospital

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us. Please can you email us at rsc-tr.communications@nhs.net so that we can get more information from you to conduct a thorough investigation. As an organisation we actively encourage an environment of continuous improvement. We value all feedback so that we can ensure that where there are opportunities to improve we act upon these. We look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes, Royal Surrey County Hospital

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story