"Day surgery"

About: Southlands Hospital

I attended day surgery on 14/4/14. I arrived at 1pm and was clerked in by a nurse, was seen by an anaesthetist and by a doctor. We discussed sedation which was agreed during my last outpatients appointment. In that appointment I emphasised I wanted sedation so that I would not be aware of the procedure and she agreed this. When I saw the nurse on day surgery unit, she did not have it in her notes that I was going to be sedated for my procedure. I discussed this further with the anaesthetist and was given some reassurance. When I went into theatre having had a long wait (3 and a half hours) I was asked what I understood by sedation and reiterated that I wanted to be sedated so I wouldn't be aware of the procedure. However, as I was last on the list and it was late, I was informed that I was not be able to receive sedation to completely knock me out because I would need a long time to recover. I was given the option to rebook another slot but opted to have it done anyway. My point is, why did this have to happen when I had agreed the type of sedation I was having in my outpatients appointment with the consultant? Also, the only reason for this procedure was because I needed scar tissue removal as a result from of having two operations in December and complications following a hysterectomy. Why in that case was I not in theatre sooner? The wait was lengthy when you consider I starved myself from 7am and had my last drink at 10.50am. Very disappointed particularly because of the amount of distress I have experienced since my first operation in December. You would have thought this would have been taken into consideration.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southlands Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. We are dissappointed to hear that your journey with us was not as you had hoped. It is important that you contact us so that we can discuss this with you further and provide you with the answers that you need. The NHS Choices website is anonymous, and your details are not shared directly with the Trust. We would encourage you to contact the Trust directly so we can thoroughly investigate. You can do this by visiting our website www.westernsussexhospitals.nhs.uk/contacts/pals/, calling our PALS department on 01903 285032 Or emailing us at PALSWorthing@wsht.nhs.uk 01243 831822 or emailing PALSChichester@wsht.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story