"St Helier: Very unhappy and uninterested staff"

About: St Helier Hospital

St Helier A&E: 3+ hours with a ruptured appendix. Requested pain killers twice and never provided. Requested to walk to have initial assessment, then to the blood clinic then back to the waiting room. Then to the admitting doctors room. It’s should be well known in the medical profession that if you do have appendicitis sstraightening out the leg causes pain because it stretches certain muscles so makes walking slow and very painful. I was doubled over in A&E for a long time and at points crying from the pain, husband once again requested pain killers…nothing. The admitting doctor was nothing short of clinical and bordering on being rude. He dealt with nurses on other cases while trying to deal with me. Waited all morning for discharge notes, then a nurse came round and said I had to go home as she needed the bed. I asked for my notes again and she said just sit in the bed next to the chair so I can make the bed. Your notes will come shortly….an hour or so later. Left the hospital with my wounds been checked once (post surgery) and then not again. A nurse friend had to come round to check them and she had to put a new bandage on.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Helier Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about the experience you had in our hospital. We always aim to provide every patient with compassionate care, and would like to apologise if we did not live up to our standards. We will pass your thoughts onto the A&E team and other nursing staff.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story