"Awful. Awful. Awful"

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital

Waited 5 hours at a and e. to have an X-ray, get given codinenandnsent home with apparent 'soft tissue damage'..... 4 days (and no sleep) later, in agony info to my GP who brings my notes up and says "I don't want to alarm you, have the hospital not been in contact, you hav 2 fractures in your spine!" Been trying for a day and a half to get some answers as to what happens next and a and e have been totally useless. Not passed notes on to fracture clinic, not returning calls after I have specifically asked them to. Infact nites then got lost. Useless place. Now lying in bed with a fractured spine not knowing what I'm supposed to do! Do not bother going there!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stoke Mandeville Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment and we are very sorry to read about the experience you had in our A&E department at Stoke Mandeville hospital but thank you for your feedback. Although we value your comment here, if you haven't done so already, please can you also contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS)? This service is dedicated to hearing patient opinions and they will be able to discuss this matter in more detail with you and take any action required. PALS are contactable on 01296 316042 or pals@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk Kind regards Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story