"Carpal Tunnel Decompression"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

I had a Carpal Tunnel Decompression on Saturday 5th April 2014. Booking in was a nightmare, told to sit and wait and had to try to remember who was first in! Why not either call out names or give out numbers to avoid the confusion. The staff on the ward were caring and helpful. The ward was spotlessly clean and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The only wait was for the pain relief from the Pharmacy, which took 3 hours, had I been told what I need prior to admission I could have sorted this out myself. Overall the staff are great, just a little more organization needed in some areas.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent procedure at Russells Hall Hospital. We are pleased to hear that you were so well looked after by the staff on your ward and that you found the environment clean and tidy. We are sorry to hear you had a poor experience when booking in for your procedure and that this caused confusion in the waiting area. Patients usually queue to book in at the reception desk and are then asked to take a seat until they are called by a member of staff. We know that on the day you visited us the department was particularly busy and so can only apologise if this usual process was not followed. Although lots of patients sit and wait the same area, not all patients are in the same queue as they are not necessarily being seen by the same consultant or having the same type of procedure. For example, some patients are waiting for minor pre-operative assessments to be carried out. This means that the order in which people arrive and book in is not always the order they are seen. A number of other factors will affect when a patient is called, including: - The stage a patient is at in their treatment journey - What kind of procedure a patient is having (the area is used by several different departments) - The progress of the theatre list a patient has been allocated to We are pleased that you were happy with your overall care and have passed on this positive feedback to the ward staff. We are sorry that you experienced a three hour delay when waiting for your pain relief medication. Our pharmacy aims to turn round all prescriptions within two hours of receipt, with the average turnaround time for medications for the past three months being under two hours. Unfortunately, when the hospital has to process a high volume of prescriptions this can sometimes take longer. We will pass you comments on to the teams involved in your admission and care, and the Head of Pharmacy. Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story