"A & E Dept lacks communication"

About: Stoke Mandeville Hospital

My husband attended A & E last Monday with a letter from his GP who told us that he would be "fast tracked" to a surgeon. We arrived at around 12 pm and waited in the queue for 35 minutes. He then had his blood pressure taken and we were told to go to Ward 15 the surgical part of A & E. I assume that this meant that they had achieved their target of seeing some one in 4 hours! We waited in a dismal room with many other patients who had clearly been there some time. The whiteboard indicated that the waiting period was one hour. After two hours I enquired at the desk, who were very indifferent and unhelpful, how much longer as I had to put more money in the car park. They had no idea and dismissed my enquiry. After about four hours we saw a junior doctor who could not make a diagnosis so we returned to the waiting room. We eventually saw a very efficient senior surgeon who made the diagnosis and said my husband could be treated right away. He carried out a minor operation and put a line in for an antibiotic. We eventually left the hospital just after 7 pm. The main source of my complaint is the unhelpful staff at the desk and total lack of information and care. Communication is the key to keep patients informed otherwise they get anxious and angry. Putting up a notice saying a one hour wait makes the situation even worse as you know that is never a feasible option.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stoke Mandeville Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment and we are very sorry to read about the experience you had with your husband at A&E at Stoke Mandeville hospital. We aim to provide safe and compassionate care and we are glad that the care provided by the senior surgeon was efficient but thank you for bringing to our attention where this aim wasn't achieved. Although we value your comment here, if you haven't done so already, please can you also contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS)? This service is dedicated to hearing patient opinions and they will be able to discuss this matter in more detail with you to help us to identify where we need to make changes to improve communication between staff and patients waiting to be seen. PALS are contactable on 01296 316042 or pals@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk Kind regards Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story