"elderly Mother"

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary

My mother is in her late 80's on 1st March of this year fall over in Doncaster, I drove her to A&E, initially the treatment was good, she was seen straight away and sent to X-ray on her arm, after that it went down hill We arrived at 1430 at 1630 we still hadn't been assessed by a doctor. My mother was in a great deal of pain , she had cut her lip, and cut her leg. I spoke to the receptionists twice to get a progress report on how long she would have to wait on both occasion, I found them to be polite, but they really didn't care, whether she was 8 or 86, just a number to them. When she was finally seen by a doctor, he looked at the X-ray and couldn't decided whether her elbow was broken or whether it was an old injury. He stated that he would get a nurse to come and sort out her leg and lip. We waited a further 2 hours for a nurse, all this time my mother had not been offered pain relief. When the nurse arrived he cleaned up the leg and lip and put her arm/elbow in a sling. I was amazed they didn't put the arm in a back slab. She was not offered any pain relief or told what she could take to relieve the pain. On Wednesday 5th March my mother came back to the fracture clinic, where they re x-rayed her elbow, to find she had a severe break and the Doctor wanted to review her case with another consultant the following day. Her elbow was then put in a back slab, but again no one offered her pain relief. On the 6th March she received a call from the Doctor from the previous day, stating she needed to have a CT scan and an appointment would be sent. An appointment was sent for 1745 in Worksop the following week. My mother has no car, all her family work, so how did the hospital think she was going to get there? The treatment and care she received from DRI was terrible, it was a though she was old and therefore she didn't matter, how she was treated and cared for. Respect doesn't cost anything at all. So come on DRI treat everyone the same whether they are 6 or 106!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Good afternoon, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to send this feedback to us via NHS Choices and to apologise for the time it has taken us to reply. We have now however investigated the concerns you have raised fully and can only apologise that your mother was not given anything for the pain she was enduring, nor to take home when she left us. As a result we have carried out some work with all staff to remind them to ensure that they offer analgesia and give it promptly when prescribed. We would also like to apologise for the delay that your mother experienced in A&E, which we have found was 2hrs 51 minutes. The reason for the delay, which was due to the large number of people receiving treatment at the time, should have been fully explained to your mother, but is not an excuse. Again, we apologise for the service your mother received from the A&E department but would like to reassure you that we have taken measures to put things right for the future. Regards, Hilary Frost Emergency Department DRI

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story