"Saturday afternoon in A&E"

About: Hull Royal Infirmary

I visited the Emergency department with my partner as advised by the NHS Direct service. He was suffering with an abscess on his tooth which despite being prescribed antibiotics by his dentist the day previously, had swollen to three times the size. Neither of us realised how dangerous an abscess can be until being told on the phone. We used the check in service which was quick and easy (once you realised where on screen to press to best select) and he was literally seen within minutes by the nurse. He was prioritised due to the seriousness and was found to have a high temperature, fever and irregular heart beat. He was seen by the nurse initially and then two or three times by the doctor while they decided what best to do and whether he needed to see a specialist (who happened to already be in the department luckily). In total I think we were in there just under two hours but it didn't feel like we were waiting around idle for long. despite quite a full waiting room they seemed to move people in and out fairly quickly. They gave him a secondary prescription for another anti-biotic and told us about signs to watch out for and to come back again should he experience these. My only criticism is that they put a brand name of a drug on the prescription, which I'm sure normally wouldn't be a problem, however, due to a manufacturing issue, we visited 4 different pharmacies, being told no-one had any, before an independent pharmacy (not Boots or Lloyds) told us that they had the drug but it was named something else. He explained that often the doctors give the brand name for ease which then causes problems when prescribing, as we discovered! Very grateful to the staff at the hospital for taking such good (swift) care of him.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hull Royal Infirmary

Thank you for adding you comment to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware of these. I am sorry to read however that you had difficulties in having your prescription filled at the local pharmacy. During normal working hours, the prescription would have been for the hospital pharmacy to complete, however out of hours, prescriptions are given that can be used at your local pharmacy to avoid delay in taking important medication. It is regrettable that on this occasion that several local pharmacies were unable to help you. If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose. For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on (01482) 675165. If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk as we are always striving to improve our patients experience. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services. Kind regards, Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story