"Unsatisfactory care"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

My mother has been in NTGH for a number of months now. I am very disappointed with the nursing care provided by so called qualified staff. The communication channels are non existing and the nurses in charge are rude, unhelpful and condescending to patients and relatives. I have witnessed on more than one occasion , a staff nurse arguing with an elderly patient in front of relatives and the same nurse also ignored requests from patients for help one of which was my mother. It would appear that the majority of qualified staff find" hands on care" beneath them. I do question what the role of the Matrons and Sisters are in current healthcare provision, plenty of them visual to patients and relatives but when asked a question the same old answer" I'm not looking after your mother!" We are yet to be greeted by a smile. Soiled and wet washing is left in open bags next to hot radiators on regular occasions. My mother has been left sitting in soiled clothes. Medication left lying on bed table. A nurse shouting across the bay that my mother had an infection. I could go on. You've probably guessed that I am a qualified nurse of 32 years but left the job earlier this year due to been total despondent with the profession. Somebody in authority at NTGH needs to address the recurring complaints about this hospital. The nurses in question should be ashamed. They are more interested in discussing their social lives and complaining about low morale than patient care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for bringing your concerns to my attention - I am replying to your post immediately because I feel deeply concerned by the poor standards of care that you describe. I find myself unable to act upon the information you have shared due to the anonymous nature of your post. I am so sorry that you feel so let down by the care that your mother has received. I'd urge you to get in touch with me directly so that I can take forward your concerns and discover more about why your experience of our care has been so poor. In my role as Director of Patient Experience I pay a lot attention to the views of our patients - we receive feedback from more than 60,000 people every year - we actively learn from this and we formally compare with other sources of information such as complaints. We recognise that all comments we get back are useful since both positive and negative feedback has something to teach us about how we can continually get better. I'm only sharing this with you now as a way of demonstrating how seriously I take your concerns. Your story is alarming and I want to learn. Please contact me on annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk Many thanks, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story