"Removal of polyp"

About: Royal United Hospital

After waiting for quite sometime I was told the consultant I was supposed to see was unavailable & the nurse was trying to get someone from the delivery suite to see me, eventually I saw someone else & explained to her the reason for my visit, all seemed to go well, she talked me through the operation & what it would involve. She then took a biopsy of the womb & recommended I consider having a coil fitted & would be in touch with results of biopsy in about 3 weeks, having waited over 4 weeks I rang my GP to see if any results had turned up, which they hadn't but they would chase them up, another week went by, rang my GP again, it was almost 6 weeks before I actually received them, on discussing the results with my doctor it as though they were discussing someone completely different, the results were entirely focused on heavy & erratic bleeding & recommend I have a coil fitted ( my periods stopped the previous November & going through the menopause) after several letters via my GP, myself & the consultant, I have got no further, my husband then took a phone call message asking me to go the following week to see a consultant & would receive a letter confirming appointment, no letter, I then rang the hospital & was told I didn't need appointment by his secretary & was sent another letter the previous day explaining why & would ring to discuss it once I had letter, no letter arrived, secretary rang the next day to say it wasn't sent but maybe I should go to appointment as it was with someone else & I would be classed as a new patient, not sure why that would benefit me, they did e mail me letter which basically said I would have to start again with new scan etc to see if I did in fact have a polyp, as I've already had all of this done to me it seemed a complete waste of my time, NHS time & money, I have cancelled the appointment and will go back to my GP, I would not recommend Bath RUH to anyone & have since heard many complaints from others regarding this hospital.............. I eventually got my letter through the post on day of appointment!!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal United Hospital

I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the care you have received. We would like more details so that we can investigate this further. Please could you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01225 825656 or via email at ruh-tr.PatientAdviceandLiaisonService@nhs.net.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story