"Care I was receiving was not up to the standard I am used to"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital / General medicine

(as the patient),

After being admitted to Rake Lane General Hospital last month, I discharged myself. The reason being the care I was receiving was not up to the standard I am used to.

I think staff members need to address their attitude a little. Not all of them, but very few seemed interested in patients welfare.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Annie Laverty, Director of Patient Experience, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Annie Laverty

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing this and allowing your concerns to be brought to our attention. It is so important to us and a key part of our commitment as a Trust to continually improve our services.

I am terribly sorry that you felt so let down by the care you received last month - we would never expect any of our patients to feel this way or to discharge themselves as a result. I was shocked and disappointed to know that you felt you had little option.

I am extremely keen to find out more information to enable us to act swiftly and get to the heart of what the problem was. You'll see from the site that it is very unusual for our patients to be left with an impression that our staff don't care and I want to know more about why this was the case for you.

I'd be really grateful if you would contact me directly on annie.laverty@nhct.nhs.uk so that I can learn more about what we need to change.

With sincere apologies once again,


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you taking the time to share your experience of care. All feedback from our patients is extremely important to us, both bad and good. I am very concerned that you felt you had no other option than to discharge yourself due to the level of care you were receiving at North Tyneside Hospital. Poor attitude from any member of staff is never acceptable. I would be really grateful if you would contact me at Annie.laverty@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk so that I am able to investigate this further. Best Wishes Annie Annie Laverty - Director of Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story