"Gluten free requirements"

About: North Tyneside General Hospital

I was admitted to ward 7 earlier this month for elective surgery. The surgical team are fantastic and I can't praise them highly enough. The majority of the staff on ward 7 are very efficient and friendly. There were times however when it seemed very chaotic with staff not working as a team and not knowing what each other were doing which was frustrating as it usually meant you were left waiting for their attention and care. My only complaint would be the provision for patients suffering from coeliac disease as I found this extremely poor. There is no way to order a gluten free meal via the TV which seems mad so you therefore have to rely on a nurse ordering this for you which was not consistent as some days I was left with no meal or had to wait 20 mins whilst they ordered something from the kitchen. Once the frozen microwaved meal arrived it was horrible and I'm not sure I'd feed it to my dog! I had to supply my own bread for toast and my own biscuits. It's unacceptable in this day and age to not provide a healthy gluten free meal especially for patients recovering from major surgery.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from North Tyneside General Hospital

Dear Sir/Madam Thank you taking the time to share your experience of care on ward 7. The feedback that our patients give us is always very important, we learn from it all, both good and bad. I am delighted that you have had such a wonderful experience of care from the surgical team and I know they will be really pleased when they get to see your comments. I am, however, really sorry that the care did not always feel as efficient and timely as it could have done and that they were a number of aspects of your care experience that could have been better during your stay on the ward. I am sorry that you didnt always get the help you wanted at the time you needed it. I can appreciate how frustrating it is to be left waiting - it is not what we'd want for any of our patients. In relation to your dietary requirements whilst staying in the hospital, I have spoken to our facilities manager Veronica Gingell. She informed that there are systems in pace that will alert the kitchen staff to the specialised needs of an individual patient. Gluten free bread and snacks are available for patients who require them and I'm really sorry that this was not brought to your attention. With this in mind, I will share your comments with the team on ward 7 to ensure that the whole team are aware of this. I do hope that you are recovering well from your surgery. With best wishes and thanks again, Annie

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story