"A & E waiting time/communication/organisation all..."

About: Wythenshawe Hospital

I arrived with my 12 year old daughter at around 8.05pm on 17/3/14. The initial triage in reception was fine and after 15 mins we were passed through to the childrens review area. This is where things started to go wrong. It became apparent that my daughter's records had been mislaid. At least 6 people came into the department after my daughter and all were seen before her. There was no communication from the desk and it was evident that the nurse was rushed off her feet and dealing with most things on her own. It was clear there was insufficient resource to deal with the increased demand. Eventually we were seen some 2 and a half hours later. The doctor was excellent and referred my daughter for an x-ray. We went to the x-ray dept and i pressed the bell. We were the only patients there at this time. Nobody arrived and then within half an hour 6 other vpeople turned up. One rang the bell and out popped a radiographer to take all the cards from the others. I knocked on the door and she returned to take mine. I advised that i had been here for some time and was informed i should have rang the bell. I advised that i had to which i received no reply. I then had to wait with my daughter and predictably we were the last to be seen yet again. Once x-rayed we received a speedy service from the doctor. We eventually left the hospital after midnight. 4 hours for an x-ray ? I have already provided feedback to the senior management team. The whole episide was very disappointing and not what i believe is typical. Nontheless it was completely unacceptable.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wythenshawe Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on the NHS Choices website. We would like to offer you our apologies that you had cause to be dissatisfied with the care and treatment your daughter received from our Accident and Emergency Department. Please be assured that your comments will be passed to the relevant Departmental Manager to note, however in order to investigate your concerns fully we would encourage you to either contract the Patient Experience Team on 0161 291 5600 or via email at pls@uhsm.nhs.uk and to provide them with specific patient identification details. Kind regards Patient Experience Department UHSM

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story