"Awful experience"

About: BMI - Thornbury Hospital (Sheffield)

(as the patient),

I have attempted to email a complaint, and have been unable to find contact details for the executive director. My complaint email has been returned undelivered by Thornbury. However, here is a copy of my complaint.

I was referred to Thornbury hospital by my gp for a gynaecological operation. With Thornbury hospital being a private hospital, I was expecting the care to be outstanding. However, I was sorely disappointed from and I feel there were so many minor and major issues I picked up on during my experience that I doubt Thornbury wouldn't pass the friends and family test.

I have bullet pointed some of the issues I came across:

- at pre-op assessment, I informed the nurse that I believed my large ovarian cyst ruptured recently as I had suffered severe pain. I asked her if she could speak with the consultant regarding this, as I had had a CT scan the morning after suspected rupture. The nurse told me that there was no need, as if the cyst had ruptured, I'd be dead by now! However it was found that my cyst had indeed ruptured. My abdomen was full of blood according to my operating consultant, which has caused internal damage, which may have been minimised had the nurse not dismissed my concerns.

-upon admission to the ward, I was informed that I would be going to theatre at midday, and I would be informed of any delays or changes. I was not collected for theatre until nearly 4pm. I was not informed of any delay or changes!

The practitioner who collected me for my surgery, checked my consent form with me, which is correct procedure. However at the end they asked me, do you understand any of that, because I don't! I don't believe this sort of statement would put any patient at ease immediately prior to going to surgery.

My 1st night at Thornbury, I was in a lot of pain following my surgery. I asked my nurse for some analgesia. She agreed to get some strong analgesia for me. 15 minutes later a different nurse who I had not met before entered my room and gave me an injection in my leg! I can only assume this injection was an opiate, however I was not informed about what it was. However, it seemed this new nurse I had not met previously did not check my patient details, allergies, or my vital observations prior to administering the opiate drug.

A couple of times during my stay, I accidentally set of the nurse call system, due to the placement of the button. Both times a member of staff entered my room with the statement, what do you want? When I explained that I had not meant to call them to my room, their attitude was incredibly rude!

Upon seeing my fluid intake and output chart the following morning, I noted the night nurse had just made up how much I drank and went to the toilet! As it was completely inaccurate, and the nurse hadn't asked me once how much I'd drank or gone to the toilet. I informed the day nurse of the inaccurate documentation that morning.

I had an incredibly sore throat following surgery, which can be expected, however on examination of my throat, I going quite a nasty injury to the back of my throat. (For which I have pictures of. ) I informed 3 nurses about this issue, and not one of them would check the injury as requested or inform the anaesthetist of an intubation injury.

I am prescribed medication, which I take daily. I brought this medication in with me, and informed the staff. The prescription was written up on my drug kardex. I was not once given my routine medication during my 2 night stay at Thornbury.

The first day following my surgery, I was given a meal. Whilst eating this meal, I realised I could taste Bell Peppers (which I am allergic to) despite having an allergy band stating this and the kitchen staff being informed of my allergy! My meal was taken away from me when I informed the staff of their error and I was given an antihistamine thankfully. However I was not offered any meal replacement!

I found nearly all the nurse staff to be very rude when speaking to me! I was made to feel an inconvenience to them. Even my relatives commented on the rudeness of the staff!

I could not wait to get out of Thornbury hospital! I did not feel safe or well looked after. I must say, it was an absolute stark contrast to the care I was expecting. It has taken me a month and a half to even come to terms with writing up my letter of complaint. However I feel it necessary to do so.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from BMI Healthcare Ltd

Dear Tori8980,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, which obviously makes for an upsetting read. I am sorry that your experience with us was not a positive one. It is interesting that you refer to the Friends and Family test. I am surprised at your points as our patient feedback, and indeed Friends and Family ratings are very high.

However, it is very important that we investigate your complaint. We have searched our robust complaints records and can not find anything that resembles what you have written, so we are presuming that you have not made a formal complaint.

As much of your complaint is of a serious clinical nature, it is important that we investigate your points fully and thoroughly with you so we can follow the correct complaints process, investigate in detail and make our on-going reports and plans for change. We can not do this anonymously.

It is not appropriate for us to continue the investigation of such a serious nature online so I would like you to contact me directly at the hospital on 0114 266 1133 or email me at david.mills@bmihealthcare.co.uk or alternatively complete the contact form on our website, so we can follow the correct complaints procedure and ensure that everything is logged.

Once we have spoken at length, we will issue a response on this site also to inform other readers of the plans and steps that we will set in place.

Kind regards

David R Mills

Executive Director

BMI Thornbury Hospital

312 Fulwood Road, Sheffield, S10 3BR

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story