"Diabetic Clinic"

About: Blackpool Victoria Hospital

I attended the clinic for two years. The first time I ever set eyes on the consultant, he came into the room, asked me if it was true, that I was struggling with using the insulin, I replied "yes", he then pretended to bang his head against the wall, then the desk and at which point, I did wonder if he was another patient in the room. Very strange behaviour for an adult, let alone a Consultant. I decided to write to him and explain how odd it was to see such behviour. For another number of months I continued to attend, realising he was doing very little for me, though I was aware my diabetes and high blood pressure was not receiving the appropriate care. Finally, he decided to discharge me, quite suddenly and despite both conditions still inappropriately being managed. To be honest, I was glad to be getting away from him, but I was, overall, concerned on the level of care his was giving. I feel that Blackpool is over-all a good hospital, but it just takes this one bad experience, which can destroy so much good that is done. Blackpool Vic and certainly the staff and patients deserve better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Paul Jebb, Assistant Director of Nursing (patient experience), Clinical Governance, Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

picture of Paul Jebb

Thank you for sharing your experience of your treatment at our diabetic clinic. I am sorry that you felt you were not treated with the professionalism you deserved by the Consultant and you were not involved in your discharge process.

I would urge you to contact our Patient Relations Team on 01253 65 5588 / pals@bfwhospitals.nhs.uk so that they can look into this matter immediately for you, especially if you still feel you require assistance with your condition.

I will also be passing your comment onto the clinic so they can act upon this vital feedback.

With best wishes for the future,

Paul Jebb

Assistant Director of Nursing - Patient Experience

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story