"hit and miss"

About: Royal Blackburn Hospital

last friday I went into a and e with a hip complaint. The nurse informed there would be quite a long wait (it was friday afternoon) which I appreciated there may be and was happy to wait. I used the toilet facilities. there was blood on the floor. I'm no expert but it was dry and appeared to have been there for some time. I was looked after by a very helpful doctor (didn't catch his name) who said would write notes on my records for the gp to refer me for an ultrasound etc. I've been to the gp twice this week, the notes never arrived on my records. so in essence, mine, his and the nurses time and money was wasted due to some form of miscommunication. as I was waiting for my blood pressure and temperature to be taken (both of which took about 30 seconds to complete however I waited 20 minutes for) I could hear a number of staff complain about their jobs, which didn't fill me full of confidence really :-( It's a shame, when i was being looked after It was with respect and professionalism. I'm unsure of the status of the nhs cutbacks that we hear about etc, it appears to me that there seems to be a lack of focus, communication and management. The staff themselves that I have dealt with are very caring, but from actions and results/ supply of basic stock like blankets there are certainly some issues that need to be raised. It is a very large hospital and requires a lot of effort to keep it running smoothly.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Blackburn Hospital

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our A & E service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your concerns about linen, staff attitude and communication are passed onto the team and I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve it for every patient throughout our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk. If you would like to discuss further any concerns you may have about our services please contact our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further. Many apologies also for the delay in responding to your comment

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story