"A mixed experience of maternity "

About: Forth Valley Royal Hospital / Maternity unit

(as the patient),

I had a combination of very good and very bad experiences. I came into the hospital with very high blood pressure and very little movement from my baby. The staff in triage were very nice to me and my husband.

When I was taken to the prenatal ward the midwife wasn't so helpful. She was rude to us both and did not seem to understand any of our concerns. It was very busy but that night no one came near me to monitor my blood pressure or my baby from 8 o'clock until 10 o'clock the next morning. At that time my blood pressure was high.

It took until a midwife Sharon came to see me at 2 clock for anything else to be done. I had blood taken, a tracing of my baby's heartbeat and very quickly referred to a doctor. By 3 o'clock Sharon had explained exactly what was happening and I had been given a tablet for my blood pressure and steroids for my baby. However after Sharon left the same thing happened that night with no one doing any checks on any of us in the room.

One lady told me she had been in lots of times and it was always this way. She said Sharon and another 2 midwives were the only ones who really seemd to care and even when it was so busy they still looked after everyone.

The next day I had my daughter by c section. She was really little and because of this we stayed in hospital for 4 days. The nursery nurses were fantastic although some of the auxiliary nurses I met need a lesson in manners.

The midwives depended who you were lucky enough to have to look after you. Some seemed unhelpful and rude. Others like Sharon who I met again, Fiona, Maureen and Tony were amazing and in my opinion everyone should be like them.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Gail Bell, Deputy Head of Midwifery, Women and Children, NHS Forth Valley

Thank you for your posting. I was pleased to hear that you had a good experience within the Triage department and will feed back your comments to the staff.

I was however sorry to hear that your experience within the prenatal ward was a mixture of both good and bad experiences which was dependant on the staff on duty at any given time. I have met with the ward Manager who has asked me to apologise for your experience on her behalf. She has assured me that all the points you have raised both good and bad will be brought to the attention of her staff. She agrees that it is not acceptable that care is delivered in this manner. It should never be a lottery draw where the care given depends on who is on duty. Rudeness and lack of care are unacceptable no matter how busy staff are. She is happy to meet up with you or have a chat about your care while you were in the ward if you would like. I appreciate that with a small baby to look after your time is very precious. If you wish me to arrange this my contact details are below.

Meantime I would like to wish you all well. I am sure your little girl will be bringing you endless joy as well as many sleepless nights.

Best wishes


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story