"Admissions at this hospital are a farce."

About: Warrington Hospital

Arrived at the appointed time 7.30a.m.had previously rung to check bed situation. Told this was not necessary and they did not know why this was put on the appointment letter. Put in a small waiting room with several other patients who also had first rung the hospital as requested. This room could be made a little more welcoming. Very little information given to us unless we asked for it. Eventually told that the managers were searching for beds. Most patients were allocated beds (after about 2 hours+) I was not given a bed until 3 PM despite the fact that I am diabetic and had not eaten since 7pm the previous day. At one point I was told that a bed was being made available for me on A5 when the patient had been discharged.. About an hour later when I had still not been admitted I queried the bed situation and was told that the patient was staying for lunch. Eventually I was given a bed I was not on the ward I had been allocated (A5) but was just grateful to get a bed as my appointments had already been cancelled twice. I finally went to theatre about 4pm However the medical and nursing treatment I received was excellent . From reading previous reviews my complaints are not 'one offs' but a regular occurrence. Are the powers be addressing this situation? I think not! Its a pity that the medical and nursing staff and the hospital in general are damaged by this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Warrington Hospital

Thanks for leaving your feedback and firstly we're pleased that the medical and nursing care you received was excellent. However, we're sorry you had an extended wait for admission on the day. We try really hard not to keep people waiting for admission and do everything we can not to cancel appointments when the hospital is particularly busy with emergency cases. Sometimes the balance with this is that it leads to delays with being able to get you to your bed as soon as we would like. We'll pass on this feedback to the team and see if we can improve the way we communicate with you if we think there might be a delay. We'll also look at the waiting area and see if it can be made more welcoming.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story