"Diagnosis problems, delays and poor communication"

About: Greater Manchester Tameside General Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as a staff member),

This story has been posted by Healthwatch Tameside on behalf of a member of the public who asked not to have their name published. They said…

This man had an unexplained (no accident) injury to his foot in July 13. He was referred by GP to Tameside General Hospital, where he was told he’d be given tests. No contact from TGH for 2 months, then tests but referred in turn to 3 different consultants, nothing done, referred back to GP.

GP referred back to TGH to consultant. Sent for MRI scan, but it was done on back not foot. Then saw consultant’s registrar who diagnosed tendon problem, had foot put into plaster, and arranged for physiotherapy after that. When he saw physiotherapist, was told it was not tendon, so physio not appropriate, and referred back to consultant. Another long delay and now has appointment in March with the same consultant.

All this time he has been off work and on crutches. He feels he has been pushed around, ignored, given wrong tests, and so on. He told GP he wanted referral to a different hospital but GP refused, on grounds that this consultant was the best man. At the time this story was told to Healthwatch in February, he had not yet seen thus consultant, only other staff.

He has complained to PALS about TGH and his GP. His mother offered to pay for private treatment but GP was still refusing the necessary referral.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for highlighting the delays in receiving your results. You are quite right, it is extremely important that we provide results to examinations in a timely manner and we are sorry for the poor level of communication with your care. Please can I ask that you contact Liz Penny Matron for Elective Surgery Liz.Penny@tgh.nhs.uk or tel: 0161 922 6751 with your details so the issues you have raised can be dealt with more quickly and personally.

Kind regards

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story