"Incompetence galore"

About: Littlebrook Hospital

My partners sister had a breakdown and we were sent to this place. Since the moment we arrived, they were trying to get rid of us, saying it was just an emotional breakdown and that she didnt need any mental help/medication. When the psychiatrist arrived, he didnt even look at the patient or talk to her. He spoke directly at myself and my partner thewhole time. They finally managed to kick us out about 5 hours later. Her mental health was deteriorating by the minute so we had to take her to a private facility where a competent doctor had her put into a mental hospital and she is now being treated with anti psychotics. Instead of helping, these they told us to declare her homeless so the council would give her a new home as she couldnt go back to her parents house. Then get outpatient councelling. There was only one staff member who was slightly helpful with his suggestions but unfortunately he ws finishing his shift when we got there. The rest are all incompetent.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Littlebrook Hospital

We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the support provided at one of our Units. We strive to provide appropriate support to people in need of inpatient care, and work with partners to ensure people have the right support if they do not require these services. Whilst we cannot comment on individual cases here, if any of our service users or carers are dissatisfied with any part of their care or treatment we encourage them to talk to the staff about their concerns. They can also use our complaints and compliments processes. For information visit www.kmpt.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story