"Patient Medical Care"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

My wife was admitted to the hospital via A & E last Monday 24th February at about 0930hr. She was found to have broken her leg and ankle in three places and required an operation. She finally was placed on Pembroke ward at about 2145hrs that night. because her blood was too thine due to warfrin we knew the operation would not be till Wednesday. From that day onwards she was told each day that she would be having the operation but each day by early afternoon the operation was cancelled. Today Monday 3rd March is the first day she has had a visit from the anesthetist, which gives me the impression that the hospital had no intention of carrying out the operation on any of the other days despite her being starved. My wife was not a well person before the accident involving her leg. She is an M.S sufferer, has recently had two DVTs one in each leg as a result of an operation for cancer of the womb. Not withstanding this, there is one male nurse on the ward that seems to have taken a dislike to my wife and is very rude and uncaring. This has been brought to the attention of various ward sister, who each said they had made notes of his conduct in their daily reports and have spoken to him. One wonders as he still carriers on. On the whole it would appear every one who is employed at the hospital does their on thing and this is in my view detrimental to the patients care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

We were sorry to hear of your concerns around your relatives stay on Pembroke. The trauma cases for those days were unusually high and hence we had to prioritise the more serious cases. I am sorry that communication with you and your wife did not convey this in a satisfactory manner. We are pleased that we have had the chance to discuss your concerns in detail and if you feel there are any outstanding issues, please get in touch. Christine Martin Matron christine.martin@medway.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story