"I feel let down"

About: Frenchay Hospital

I was recently sent to Frenchay to see a surgeon under emergency care, after having had surgery 3 months previous. The wound from my surgery has not healed at all and I lose approximately half a cup of blood a day and still have to endure excruciating pain. Firstly, I had to wait 4 hours to see a lady who arrived 90 minutes after me be seen first. I went to reception who told me "you didn't check in", when I know for a fact I did... The lady there tried to outright deny she had seen me. I was then told there were no doctors on the ward and I needed to wait another hour. I had taken a day off work to sit there... One doctor took me in to take a look at me who then said she wasn't experienced enough in this area to recommend what to do. I then had to get undressed for a second doctor, who told me they had no notes for my surgery... My GP also has no notes because they weren't sent there. So, nobody knows exactly what the surgeon has done and cannot comment whether I have an unhealed wound or a new problem. I was told I would be referred back to my surgeon. Two weeks later- zero referral. I called the secretary for my surgeon directly, explained the situation and she said she would book me in. She did... For 30th April. Does that sound urgent to you? I tried to call back and surprise surprise I left two voicemails and no response. I am suffering and feel failed by a shoddy system and staff who clearly don't listen...

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Frenchay Hospital

Dear Elle – Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post details of your experience at Frenchay Hospital. I am sorry that you feel let down by your treatment. I regret that because different clinics will operate from the same waiting area it can appear that patients are seen out of order and that your appointment did not run to time or provide you with the consultation you were expecting. Clearly your experience is not what I would wish for any of our patients, and I am sorry that the communication has been poor and that your calls were not returned. I would urge you to see your GP if you feel that your symptoms significant and they will be able to refer you for an earlier appointment where this is clinically indicated. Kind Regards – Steve Sykes Advice and Complaints Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story