"Please take care with mental health"

About: Royal United Hospital

Was sent by triage for a mental health assessment, but had underlying health problems that were also resulting in anxiety. Please take care that patients presenting in this way have their underlying health condition seen to and appropriate tests carried out. Thankfully I came back in in an ambulance a week or so later and had emergency surgery. Perhaps mental health assessments could run along with physical health treatment to avoid this sort of thing happening in future. I wouldn't like for this to happen to another patient. It has made me very apprehensive for the future to have to return with an urgent health problem and for my symptoms to be assessed as 'mental health' problems.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal United Hospital

I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your visit to A&E Department, and we would like more details, so that we can discuss and investigate this further with you. Please could you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 01225 825656 or via email at ruh-tr.PatientAdviceandLiaisonService@nhs.net. We always welcome comments regarding experiences at the RUH as it helps us to identify problems and improve the quality of our service and care.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story