"Rude consultant"

About: Queen Victoria Hospital (East Grinstead)

The consultant we saw needs to attend a training course to at least grasp the basics of being polite and professional. After experiencing 3 occasions of her rudness, and very apparent complete lack of patient empathy we have decided not to complete the treatment offerred. That said all other staff we met and spoke with at the hosptial were pleasant, helpful and very understanding, including the server in the Spitfire cafe who brought tissues to our table as my daughter was so distraught after her appointment she was sobbing uncontrollably. I have never complained about the NHS, a dr or consultant before, but in this case, as this was not a one off experience I felt compelled to use this NHS choices website to describe how I felt.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Victoria Hospital

Dear Anonymous I was concerned to read of you and your daughters experience following your attendances to the Orthodontic Department at Queen Victoria Hospital. It would be important to be able to understand what happened to you and to investigate the significant issues that you have reported. This is not the experience that we aim to provide. Please contact myself Nicolle Tadman, Patient Experience Manager either via e-mailing pals@qvh.nhs.uk or telephoning 01342414355 to enable me to progress this. Alternatively I would be happy to call you if you provide your contact details. I look forward to hearing from you and apologise for the distressing experience that you have reported. Kind regards, Nicolle Tadman, Patient Experience Manager

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story