"Received 4 letters saying she had failed to turn up"

About: Royal Oldham Hospital / General medicine Tameside General Hospital / General medicine

(as a staff member),

This story has been posted by Healthwatch Tameside on behalf of a member of the public who asked not to have their name published. They said…

Saw GP, did not get a hospital appointment although doctor had requested one. This lady received 4 letters saying she had failed to turn up. Got phone number from GP's surgery to arrange to come to Tameside. Has changed hospital from Oldham who had failed her. Is being seen in early February after a long wait and this misunderstanding. Is concerned about transport from Oldham to Tameside.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lindsay Stewart, Deputy Director of Nursing, Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. Apologies that you have received numerous letters. If you require a more personalized response or help in relation to transport for hospital appointments please can you contact our PALs service on 0161 922 4466.

Kind regards,

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story