"Broken foot"

About: Croydon University Hospital

I twisted my foot on 30th Dec. Had an X ray and found to be broken. Had a temporary cast put on Friday 3rd Jan at Purley Urgent Care Centre and they made an appt for Mon 6th Jan at the Fracture clinic at CUH. I got to CUH and paid £4.00 in the car park and arrived at the Fracture Clinic to find that it had been cancelled and I hadn't been informed. Also my Husband had taken time off from work which cost him money to take me there. I couldn't get another appt until Fri 10th Jan which left me with a very heavy cast on which was by this time a bit loose as the swelling was going down. On the 10th I saw the Dr and had a new cast fitted, On Fri 7th Feb I returned to the clinic to have the cast removed. I had the plaster removed by a very nice gentleman who explained exactly what he was about to do and was very reassuring. He said not to put any weight on my foot until it had been checked out properly, I presumed that I would have a further X ray o check if it had healed properly. 3/4 hour later I was called in to see the Doctor, Unfortunately I didn't get his name. When I walked into the room he was eating something which I didn't think it was very good practice. My Husband noticed it was a packet of crisps. He took a look at my foot and said it had 'probably' healed and felt my foot, it didn't give me much confidence in him. I was concerned as it still didn't feel quite right.. He felt it again and said if I felt there was a problem with it in the next week or two to come back. He wrote the discharge form out and then continued to eat the crisps without even washing his hands. I am concerned as to whether he washed his hands after touching the last patient. I am a Health Care Assistant in a GP surgery and so know the importance of hand washing and etiquette. I felt very let down by the service that was provided by him,

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

We are sorry that you were inconvenienced by the way in which your appointments were booked and that you had a negative experience of care with the doctor who saw you. Your examination was not conducted with the high degree of professionalism that we expect from our staff; we have passed your comments on to the heads of the service who will be looking into this matter. If you would like to be involved in this process, to share your thoughts with us in more detail or to talk to a member of the team that treated you to reassure you about your condition and treatment we would really like to hear from you. If you contact our PALS team on 020 8401 3210 or email talktous@croydonhealth.nhs.uk they will take your details and we will get back to you directly. We are glad that you had a good experience with the member of staff who removed your cast. We strive to provide this level of professional, compassionate care to all of our patients when they come to see us.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story