"Orthopaedics, Accident and Emergency and..."

About: Hillingdon Hospital

My mother had a knee replacement at Hillingdon Hospital. I arrived on the day following her operation to find her being taken for an x-ray in a public lift crammed with children and other members of the public. There is no dignity in this for an elderly lady in a hospital gown despite the blanket. Is there not a risk of infection too? Why can't at least one of the lifts be dedicated to patients? She was then transferred to Mount Vernon for recuperation - Hurrah! Everything there is great. Unfortunately she had to be transferred back to Hillingdon Accident and Emergency with chest pains. It was in very poor condition and did not appear to be very clean. There was dried blood on my mother's bed - not her own! - and also on the walls. After what seemed like an eternity she was transferred to an observation ward where again there was blood on the floor but on this occasion there was also a used syringe on the floor as well as various scraps of paper and general debris. Having been given the all clear she was transferred back to Mount Vernon. In all she was at Hillingdon from about 6am until 9pm. Most of this time was spent waiting for either a bed or for transport. The actual time spent with doctors was minimal. There was one fantastic nurse on the observation ward who somewhat made up for the others who spent the time discussing their weekend and not answering the calls made by various patients on the ward. One doctor even told me not to leave my mother as I would be needed to stand up for her! The knee operation seems to have been a success but the anxiety caused by all the other aspects of her care has been extreme.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hillingdon Hospital

Thank you for your feedback. We are very concerned to read about the experience in A&E and Obs Ward and would ask that you contact Wendy Stevens, matron for the emergency department on 01895279959 to discuss these matters fully. We try to prioritise patients, but unfortunately we do not have a dedicated patient lift due to the infrastructure and facilities available. When we transfer patients, we expect their dignity to be maintained at all times and that they are kept warm whilst being transferred. We apologise if this was not the case.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story