"Less than re-assuring eye check."

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Attended ophthalmology for appointment on 4th Feb 2014. Department was very busy, but I was astounded at the speed at which my eye check was done. A lot shorter than an opticians and compared to a previous specialist consultation I had in Sheffield. I was not at all re-assured! I was also annoyed, that I had to come back for a field vision test & another doctors appointment either same day or at another time to discuss the test. I was referred because of a failed field vision test in the first place! I suspect lack of communication, if my notes had been read, this is the first test they would have done before putting eye drops in, which meant of course that they could not do the test on this visit. If this is typical then it is an obvious place to cut down on unnecessary follow up appointments to carry out simple tests. Interesting that they went through a basic distance reading test before putting in eye drops. However, I even felt that was unnecessary since my recent prescription would have given this information and they did not even look at my glasses which I was told to bring.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Thank you for providing feedback on your experience in the DRI Ophthalmic Clinic on Wednesday 5th February. We are very sorry that you did not have a good experience and that the service did not offer you the tests you were expecting in the one visit. That would be our usual procedure. Based on the information provided we agree that a visual field check should have been performed before drops were used, and would like to offer our sincere apologies that this was not the case. We would never want to bring patients back to a further appointment if this can be avoided and without knowing the details of your case we can only suggest that this was a member of staff’s error. If you would like to contact our PALS department on 0800 0288059 and give them your details, each step of your appointment can be reviewed for you. The clinic was busy on Wednesday; however the doctors and nurses always endeavour to be thorough and efficient in all the care provided and are very sorry that this was not satisfactory on Wednesday when you attended. A vision check is always repeated in clinic, as discrepancies can occur between the Optician’s and Ophthalmology Clinic’s findings. The patient is asked to bring their glasses with them, in case their optician has not stated their current prescription. It is simply a safeguard in case that information has not been provided. Please accept the Ophthalmology Service’s apologies for this unsatisfactory appointment.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story