"Third world care?"

About: Queen's Hospital (Romford)

I called yesterday to find out times of walk in eye clinic, these are still missing from website despite a previous complaint. Told clinic closed at 3, asked three times if I would be seen by doctor if I attended before then and was assured yes. Took unpaid leave from work and got there at 2.15. Had a 30 second "consultation" with a nurse in a busy corridor whilst holding my bag and coat and people walking past, no privacy, no explanation of what was happening and no idea that this was as much as I would get, no chance to give full details of complaint, nurse referred to the doctor based on our 30 second discussion and came back to say clinic was full for the day, too many other people there and best to go to Moorfields or Whipps Cross. Why have a clinic open until 3 and not enough staff to accept patients? Why tell patients that they will be seen if they get there before the clinic closes? I saw an optician on Sunday who advised going to A and E at Queens if problem got worse as they have an Eye clinic, the nurse today told me going to A and E would be a waste of time as the eye clinic would be closed and there would be no ophthalmologist there so no point in me waiting while at the same time telling me I should have attended 48 hours after first symptoms - on Monday despite the same thing happening yesterday morning. Appalling service in person and on the telephone, another example of the shocking lack of service and compassion shown to patients at Queens, my full complaint is being sent, although my hopes for a response that takes any responsibility are pretty poor as I doubt they will care, will Queens ever admit they are in the wrong? I doubt it very much, check out the other reviews for similar experiences

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I’m sorry that you feel you’ve been treated with a lack of compassion at our hospital. It must have been very frustrating for you to be told you were going to be seen by a doctor and then asked to seek treatment elsewhere. I understand you are already in the process of sending a complaint to us about your experience, however if you need to speak with our PALS team further, they can be reached by email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk or alternatively on 01708 435 454. Yours sincerely, Stephen Burgess Medical Director

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story