"Concerns over follow up scans"

About: Western Infirmary/Gartnavel General / Ophthalmology

(as the patient),

I have been diagnosed with ocular melanoma, although I have been admitted and received plaque treatment I must attend regularly for surveillance of my eye and I also believed signs of metastatic disease.

I attended a follow up appointment recently to be informed I will not receive a surveillance scan of my liver for two years. Metastatic disease is better found early not too late.

I believe this is unacceptable and does not follow the patient pathway as set out by Liverpool Ocular Oncology Centre or Southampton.

Glasgow is also a city in the UK, why are protocols different? Ultrasound scans are not suffice in tracking any lesions in the liver which would be the likely site of any spread.

I am gravely concerned that patients are not being offered appropriate scans. This concern has led to a higher degree of distress and anxiety already being felt.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Paul Cannon, Head of Administration, Acute Services Division, Greater Glasgow & Clyde NHS

Dear Jelly bean

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your feedback. We have shared your concerns with the relevant consultant; however we cannot provide further information on this issue via the website. In the event you require further information, please contact me at paul.cannon@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and we will pass your details to the service involved with this.

Once again thank you for using the Patient Opinion feedback system, it is greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story