"Treatment after a fall which resulted in a..."

About: Worcestershire Royal Hospital

Following a fall on 30th Dec 2013 I was admitted into Worcester Hospital. Four Xrays showed that I had two fractures and a dislocated shoulder. After an overnight stay I was sent home with a dislocated and broken shoulder and a bottle of morphine. According to the ambulance driver who drove me home 'it's because it's New Years Eve and they need all the beds for the drunks'. My instruction was to return to the Trauma Clinic on January 3rd. I suffered in agony with hardly any sleep for four days. When I returned to hospital on the 3rd - I was told I was to be re-admitted. I sat in a room for nine hours awaiting re- admission. I was not offered anything to eat or drink ! Eventually I was admitted to Chestnut Ward - still without anything to eat or drink. They told me the kitchen was closed but a guy said he would see what he could find for me to eat. I ended up with a baked potato. On the next day(Sat 4th) I was taken to theatre and had my shoulder manipulated under anesthetic to re-position it. I was then told I could go home even though still in agony. After 2 weeks I returned to Trauma clinic, had an Xray which showed my shoulder was again dislocated. The registrar said he would refer urgently to the consultant - I was told to go home and wait for an appointment even though my shoulder is still dislocated and extremely painful. 2 weeks after that I'm still waiting !

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Worcestershire Royal Hospital

We are sorry that you had cause to contact us with concerns about your care and treatment, it is disappointing that your experience did not match the expectations you had of us. It is concerning that you are still awaiting an appointment to see a Consultant and we would be keen to investigate this further. If you would like for us to look into this please contact Rita Rai, Directorate Support Manager on 01527 503030 ext 44232. We are very sorry that you were not offered anything to eat or drink while you were on Chestnut Ward. Staff are informed not to feed patients awaiting surgery, but when it was clear you would not make it to theatres that day we should have offered you food. Our patient kitchen closes after the set evening meal time which does limit the choice of food available. We always try to discharge patients appropriately after they have been cleared by a doctor and we are sorry that you were still in pain when we said you could go home, ward staff should have picked up on this at the time. Without your name it is difficult for us to fully investigate your concerns. If you would like us to look into this further please contact Sister Jo Cronin on 01905 760265.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story