"Mixed experience at Rotherham District General"

About: Rotherham Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

Last month, I was a patient at the Rotherham District General hospital for the treatment of cellulitis. All in all, I would say that I had a bit of a mixed experience. The medical care which I received was exemplary - the doctors were compassionate, caring, and even humorous. The nurse staff were also kind and thoughtful.

Unfortunately, the food was awful. All we were given were small portions of terrible food. I thought the days of powdered egg were over, but apparently not!

My main concern, however, was staying too long on the admission ward B1, since I was left without treatment for a very long time. It was also so noisy and busy on this ward (with doors banging and lights on at all times) that it only served to make my situation more uncomfortable. I was eventually moved, but only when I complained to a doctor about this.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from PALS Co-ordinator, Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for posting on this website and in the first instance I would like to say how pleased I am that you found the medical and nursing care exemplary.

I am sorry you were dissatisfied with the food whilst you were an inpatient and have passed your comments to the Catering Manager. The Catering Department have robust monitoring systems in place to measure patient satisfaction, for example the Catering Team visit a minimum of three wards daily, to speak to patients and record their comments regarding: food taste, food temperature, appearance of tray and overall satisfaction. The quality of food served to patients is very important to us however and we therefore appreciate you taking the time to pass on your observations.

In terms of your experience on ward B1, I would like to apologise if this fell below your expectations. I have passed your comments to the Ward Manger who has advised that whilst the nature of the admissions ward means that this can be noisy at times, this has been recognised through the results of the National Patient Survey. Please be assured that in light of your comments, the Ward Manager is going to remind all staff regarding the importance of reducing the noise level where possible. Thank you once again for taking the time to post your comments.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful