"degrading and dirty"

About: Wycombe Hospital

This hospital looks like a 1960's germ warfare lab and the inside does nothing to disavow your impression. It seems that every day in Wycombe Hospital is a Sunday because everything's either closed or closed off. What a damning indictment of the failed Health Authority in South Bucks. Even the World Health Organisation recommends using a swab before you have a blood sample taken but, not in Wycombe Hospital apparently because they're "saving money". If you're unlucky enough to have to endure an overnight stay in this squalid, filthy charnel house forget being fed unless your relatives buy you a sandwich from the vending machine. A nurse had to dig into her personal coffee out of pity before my husband could get anything but water (the sole coffee outlet was shut). We need a hospital in Wycombe, not one in Slough or just outside Aylesbury. But we also need a real hospital worthy of the name.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wycombe Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are really sorry to read about your and your husband's experience and thank you for your feedback. If you haven't done so already, please can you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) so that we can discuss the matter in more detail and take any action required. PALS are contactable on 01296 316042 or pals@buckshealthcare.nhs.uk Kind regards

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story